Breaking news, rankings, predictions and analysis all in one place.

NCAA Tournament By The Numbers -- Religious Affiliation

Of the 22 Private Schools in the tournament, the Religious affiliation of these breaks down like this:

  • Non-Sectarian - 10 (USC, Miami, Yale, Butler, Duke, Fairleigh Dickinson,Syrcause, Vanderbilt, Hampton)
  • Catholic - 10 (Notre Dame, Xavier, Holy Cross,Seton Hall, Iona, Dayton, Saint Joseph's, Villanova, Providence, Gonzaga)
  • Baptist -1 (Baylor)
  • Presbyterian - 1 (Tulsa)

As of this writing 7 of these 21 schools are left:  Miami, Duke, Syracuse, Notre Dame, Gonzaga, and Villanova

Of the nine Catholic Schools three of were founded by the Jesuits: Xavier, Gonzaga, Saint Joseph's.    
McGowanMania once attended a session at Marquette University and one of the Priests gave the following definition of a Jesuit college, "A Jesuit College is quite simply a Catholic College that has a good basketball team"

No comments:

Theme images by LUGO. Powered by Blogger.